Kick-Butt Running to Be a Marathoner!

No issue is the hottest and trending topics in the Beantown than Boston Marathon. We all know that it is mainly because of the unfortunately tragedy that happened last year, which gave us a ride to emotional and mental roller coaster. Still, marathoners across the world  are coming to this upcoming event!

Fierce and Undefeatable!

bss

This is truly Admirable! 

Inspired by these marathoners, I wish I could run like them (Urggg… at least for now). It is on the top of my bucket list! I will do it some time, some day, I don’t know when, but HEY I’m definitely doing this in the future!

So, what does it take to run a marathon? It is surely not all about the physical strength, but mentally strength. I remember back in high school when I did cross-country for the first time.

Three miles, 40 minutes, almost faint, almost give up and  barely move my legs after the run!  It’s not just like regular jogging: no IPod allowed. It’s all about self-control and high self-motivation!

So, how am I going to prep for this?

First, find my motivation. Yes, I love running but that’s not enough!

What do you think of Marathon? For me, the first thing that pops up in my head is not those firm, athletic, muscular marathoners, but it is them, those mister and misses from  The Biggest Loser.

bgl

 

If the Biggest Loser candidates can do it, why can’t I?

Second, I need a training! I need to set a benchmark: starting from 15 to 20, 20 to 25 and 25 to 30 miles a day!

This is why my goal for today is running for 15 miles. It may be just a few miles short from the real marathon (yeah 11.2 miles) with a 2-hour gym playlist on my iPhone  and 5 mins break now and then. But HEY I”M TRYING.

Believe me, before the end of the summer I am going to run at least 26 miles in ease!

IMG_3191

For Bostonian, you can use this Charles River Running Map to begin planning for your next run.

 

Image

For all the wanna-be marathoner like me, I think this information might be a better guide for you

Image

 

For some inspiration, watch Run, Fatboy, Run .

 

For professional advice, you should definitely check what REI is saying about Marathons: How to Train for Your First One

 

 

And for the non-marathoner, there are also reasons why you shouldn’t run. Just check out this article 26 Reasons Not To Run A Marathon.

 

Who else wants to be a marathoner like me? Hopefully, I am not the only one. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kick-Butt Running to Be a Marathoner!

  1. I ran my first marathon at age 52 last year. It took 18 months of training, two half marathons along the way. You CAN do it but you have to really want it. For me it was on my bucket list and clearly it wasn’t going to get any easier with age. 🙂 Go for it, stay healthy, train well. It was one of the most marvelous things in the world.

    • Hi Sueslaght! At 52? Wow, that must be a really hard for you to spend 18 months to push through all the hard training. I really hope I would be able to do some day! I’m TOTALLY COMMITTED to this. I have exactly 53 weeks before my first marathon(hopefully, London Marathon). Thank you so much for your support! 🙂

      • 53 weeks should be lots of time. the key is building a foundation of running. I wish you well and hope you enjoy the crossing of the finish line as much as I did.All the very best to you on your journey. Sue

Leave a Reply

